Corbyn Announces Shadow Cabinet

13 Sep 2015


Jeremy Corbyn has unveiled the first Shadow Cabinet of his leadership. Despite the high profile resignations of Liz Kendall, Yvette Cooper, Tristram Hunt, Jamie Reed, Rachel Reeves, Caroline Flint, Chuka Umunna and Emma Reynolds - as well as the public sacking of Ivan Lewis, Corbyn still had 200+ MPs to choose from.


So who has the top jobs? 


Corbyn's campaign manager and socialist ally John McDonnell has been appointed as the party's new Shadow Chancellor. Angela Eagle, who was also tipped for the position, has assumed the role of Shadow Business Secretary. In addition, Eagle has become Shadow First Secretary of State, meaning that she will deputise for Jeremy Corbyn at PMQs when David Cameron is away.


Labour's second Eagle sister - Maria Eagle - has undertaken a treacherous role, by agreeing to become Corbyn's Shadow Defence Secretary. Eagle Mark II will have to reach out to a number of Labour backbenchers who currently oppose Corbyn's policies on NATO and nuclear disarmament.


Andy Burnham has been promoted to Shadow Home Secretary - a reward for his defence of Corbyn during the leadership campaign. Heidi Alexander replaces him at Health. Burnham's campaign manager, Michael Dugher, has been moved to Shadow Culture, Media and Sport.


Lord Falconer has stayed on at Justice - despite criticising Corbyn over the past few weeks. Hilary Benn’s temporary Shadow Foreign Secretary role has also been made permanent.


Unsuccessful Labour London Mayor candidate Diane Abbott has been appointed as Shadow International Development Secretary, after seemingly initially having been appointed as Shadow Communities Secretary.


Lucy Powell has been given the role of Shadow Education Secretary. It has been reported that Powell sought assurances on Corbyn's EU stance before accepting the position.


After being sacked by text, Ivan Lewis’ replacement at Northern Ireland is former Shadow Defence Secretary Vernon Coaker.



Corbyn's Shadow Cabinet In Full:


Leader of the Opposition: Jeremy Corbyn


Deputy Leader: Tom Watson


Shadow Chancellor: John McDonnell


Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury: Seema Malhotra


Shadow Home Secretary: Andy Burnham


Shadow Foreign Secretary: Hilary Benn


Shadow Health Secretary: Heidi Alexander


Shadow Minister for Mental Health: Luciana Berger


Shadow Defence Secretary: Maria Eagle


Shadow Business Secretary: Angela Eagle


Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary: Owen Smith


Shadow Education Secretary: Lucy Powell


Shadow Chief Whip: Rosie Winterton


Shadow Communities Secretary: Jon Trickett


Shadow Energy Secretary: Lisa Nandy


Shadow Minister for Women and Equalities: Kate Green


Shadow Attorney General: Catherine McKinnell


Shadow Justice Secretary: Lord Falconer


Shadow Minister for Housing and Planning: John Healey


Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary: Vernon Coaker


Shadow Leader of the House of Commons: Chris Bryant


Shadow Secretary of State for Transport: Lilian Greenwood


Shadow Media, Culture and Sport Secretary: Michael Dugher


Shadow Secretary of State for International Development: Diane Abbott


Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland: Ian Murray


Shadow Secretary of State for Wales: Nia Griffith


Shadow Secretary of State for Environment: Kerry McCarthy


Shadow Minister without Portfolio: Jonathan Ashworth


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Want to respond? Submit an article.


We provide a space for reasoned arguments and constructive disagreements.

Help to improve the quality of political debate – support our work today.